Uncapped Bath back Ruaridh McConnochie was the surprise call-up as Eddie Jones named his official 31-man squad to participate in the Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan.

There was no space for Danny Cipriani while Dylan Hartley is another high-profile absentee, and Mike Brown and Ben Teo’o have both been omitted following an altercation.

Brown and Te’o were reported to have been involved in a fracas during a social event at England’s heat and humidity training camp, and both will not be on the plane for Japan.

Lewis Ludlam, Jack Singleton and Willi Heinz have all been included one day after earning their first caps in England’s 33-19 win over Wales at Twickenham on Sunday.

More to follow…

England’s World Cup squad


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler(Harlequins, 58 caps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Jack Singleton (Saracens), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons/Sale Sharks)


Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Saracens), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

(c) Sky Sports 2019: Uncapped Ruaridh McConnochie named in England’s Rugby World Cup squad