Boris Johnson has hired and fired ministers as part of a reshuffle of his government following his general election victory last year.


His plans were altered by the shock resignation of Sajid Javid as chancellor, who quit after refusing to sack his aides in a stunning row with the prime minister.

It means the changes to the government are much more significant than the moderate shake-up of ministerial ranks that had previously been expected.

So, who’s in and who’s out?


Rishi Sunak – appointed chancellor

The 39-year-old is promoted from chief secretary to the Treasury to replace Mr Javid as chancellor.

It marks a meteoric rise for the former hedge fund worker and Goldman Sachs analyst, who was only elected to parliament in 2015.

The Brexiteer was an early backer of Mr Johnson’s Tory leadership campaign last year.

Alok Sharma – appointed business secretary

The Reading West MP moves from his cabinet role as international development secretary to become the new business secretary.

He has also been appointed as the minister responsible for the COP 26 climate summit in Glasgow this November.

Suella Braverman – appointed attorney general

The former barrister returns to ministerial ranks as the government’s chief legal adviser.

The 39-year-old, a committed Leave supporter, previously served as a Brexit minister in Theresa May’s government but resigned in protest at the ex-prime minister’s Brexit deal.

In a sign she could be open to widespread judicial reforms, Ms Braverman earlier this month complained about an explosion of judicial review and judicial activism [that] has led to a censoriousness and litigiousness in our society.

George Eustice – appointed environment secretary

The long-time eurosceptic, a former UKIP candidate at the 1999 EU elections, has served in the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs since Mr Johnson became prime minister.

He has now been promoted to the top job in his department, where he also served under ex-prime minister’s David Cameron and Theresa May before resigning in protest at the latter’s Brexit strategy.

The 48-year-old was Mr Cameron’s press secretary during the former Conservative leader’s time as leader of the opposition.

Oliver Dowden – appointed culture secretary

A former deputy chief of staff to ex-prime minister David Cameron, the Hertsmere MP is another to be promoted to the cabinet.

He replaces Baroness Morgan, who was controversially given a seat in the House of Lords and reappointed to the culture brief following December’s general election.

This is despite her having chosen to stand down as an MP and not contest the election.

Anne-Marie Trevelyan – appointed international development secretary

The Berwick upon Tweed MP has been promoted to the cabinet from her former role as Armed Forces minister.

She was a keen supporter of Mr Johnson during last year’s Conservative leadership contest and sat on the board of the Vote Leave campaign during the EU referendum.

Stephen Barclay – appointed chief secretary to the Treasury

The former Brexit secretary – who lost his job when the department was wound up at the end of January – makes an immediate return to government.

He will be Rishi Sunak’s number two.

Brandon Lewis – appointed Northern Ireland secretary

The former Tory party chairman is given the challenging cabinet role after the sacking of Julian Smith.

He has previously held a number of ministerial roles, in areas including security, immigration and policing.


Sajid Javid – quit as chancellor

The chancellor’s departure comes less than four weeks before this year’s budget, meaning Mr Javid has left the Treasury without ever having delivered the set-piece fiscal announcement.

Sky News understands Mr Javid was offered the chance to keep his role but resigned following a dispute with Downing Street over his close aides.

The prime minister demanded the chancellor sack all of his special advisers following turbulence between Number 10 and the Treasury in recent weeks.

The chancellor refused and as a result both sides decided to part company.

Julian Smith – sacked as Northern Ireland secretary

Just weeks after helping to restore power-sharing government in Northern Ireland, Mr Smith has lost his job.

Despite the praise he received for his role in returning devolved government at Stormont, the Skipton and Ripon MP had previously been earmarked as disloyal to Mr Johnson over Brexit.

He broke ranks with the prime minister last year by warning a no-deal Brexit would be very, very bad for Northern Ireland.

Andrea Leadsom – sacked as business secretary

The leading Brexiteer has lost the job she held since Mr Johnson became prime minister in July.

Prior to joining his cabinet, Ms Leadsom ran against Mr Johnson in last year’s Conservative leadership contest.

Theresa Villiers – sacked as environment secretary

Another Brexiteer to lose her job now that the UK has left the EU.

Her replacement will have to help oversee negotiations on access to UK fishing waters as the government holds trade talks with the EU over the next few months.

Geoffrey Cox – sacked as attorney general

The former barrister – yet another Brexiteer to leave the government – lost his job just before he was due to address the House of Commons on Thursday morning.

Solicitor general Michael Ellis instead took questions from MPs.

Esther McVey – sacked as housing minister

The Conservatives will now have gone through ten housing ministers in less than ten years after Ms McVey’s sacking.

The Brexiteer ran against Mr Johnson in last year’s Conservative leadership contest, but was knocked out in the first round.

Chris Skidmore – sacked as universities minister

The Kingswood MP has lost the job he held in two spells.

He was first appointed universities minister by ex-prime minister Theresa May in December 2018 and held the role until Mr Johnson entered Downing Street last July.

Mr Skidmore returned to the job when his successor – Mr Johnson’s brother Jo Johnson – quit the government after just six weeks in post.

Nusrat Ghani – sacked as transport minister

The Wealden MP has been removed from the role she had held since January 2018, when she became the first Muslim woman to speak from the Commons despatch box.

She supported Jeremy Hunt against Mr Johnson in last year’s Conservative leadership contest.

George Freeman – sacked as transport minister

Mr Johnson’s clear-out of the Department for Transport also included the sacking of Mr Freeman, who was Mrs May’s former policy chief.

The prime minister has made transport improvement and infrastructure projects one of the priorities of his government.

(c) Sky News 2020: Who’s in and who’s out of Boris Johnson’s government?